Does Rice Have Gluten?

rice grainThere has been a rising concern about gluten in foods. You have likely heard and seen more food items on the shelves that are being labeled as gluten free. Gluten is a protein that is found in many grains. While the protein is generally safe for most healthy individuals, for some it may pose a concern. This, therefore asks the question does rice have gluten? We’re going to discuss this matter in this article for those who may be concerned about gluten in their diet.

 

Grains Containing Gluten

Many fitness enthusiasts whose goals include weight loss try to avoid consuming an excessive amount of carbs. Gluten is commonly found in many types of carbs and for those that have certain disorders, such as celiac disease or gluten intolerance, consuming these products leads to inflammation in the intestines. If you have a sensitivity or are watching out for the protein, you should avoid the following grains that do contain it:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Spelt
  • Orzo
  • Kamut
  • Panko
  • Wheat Germ
  • Wheat Bran

These are just to name a few of the most common and not a full comprehensive list of all the grains containing gluten that can be harmful to certain groups with sensitivities or allergies. This is not to say that all grains contain it , in fact there are still many that are safe to consume. So the question remains, does rice have gluten?

Glutinous Rice

As you’re most likely aware there is a variety of different types of rice to choose from starting with your most common white rice, whole grain brown rice to basmati rice and exotic black rice. These are all considered to be free of gluten. Glutinous rice, or sticky/sweet rice as it is commonly known as, may raise concern due to its name however it does not contain gluten; rather it is called glutinous in reference to its glue-like properties which make it very sticky.

All types of rice and even rice flour are considered to be safe forms of grains to consume for those with a sensitivity to the protein. One factor that may lead to cause for concern is where it comes from. Certain types of rice as well as other naturally gluten-free foods may be processed with other grains, such as barley, which do contain gluten in them and can pose a reaction if you are sensitive to it or have a gluten allergy. Always be sure to ask at restaurants whether gluten-products such as barley, wheat, or rye are added to their dishes and look for labels that indicate a food item is gluten-free on grocery store shelves.

For those living on a restricted diet there are still many safe foods that are allowed, including rice. Another concern that fitness enthusiasts may have who are on a gluten-free diet is with the supplement whey protein. This particular protein in its purest form (whey protein isolate) does not contain the protein gluten in it naturally; however, it is always advised to check the labels for additives such as carbohydrates that may contain wheat or if the powder is processed in a facility that may also process wheat products. If in doubt, read the labels or call the manufacturer of the product before you buy.

Like this Article? Share it!

Comments are closed.